Advisory Committees

Affordable Housing Implementation Committee (AHIC)

The purpose of the Affordable Housing Implementation Committee is to advise the Community Development Department on the implementation of the Affordable Housing Investment Plan.

Categories of volunteers serving on the Committee consists of the following positions:

  • Two Co-Chairs (Chosen by the Mayor);
  • Six at-large representatives;
  • Three residents from Durham Housing Authority properties;
  • Five residents representing one of each of the following five categories:
    • A resident of affordable housing
      • May be a resident of a homeownership or rental unit & must be a resident in a unit that has legal restrictions on the income of the resident.
    • A formerly homeless individual
    • A member with expertise in real estate development
    • A member with expertise in housing finance
    • A representative from the Citizens Advisory Committee

Duties and responsibilities of the Committee include:

  • Advise on the administration on the Affordable Housing Investment Plan, including the Affordable Housing Bond electorally passed on November 6, 2019;
  • Guarantee transparency and accountability of the expenditure of City bond funds; 
  • Review expenditures and ensure City goals are met by focusing on housing construction, job training, and minority and women contractor inclusion;
  • Provide feedback and guidance on public communications regarding progress on implementing the housing investment program; and
  • Provide briefings to Council every six months regarding activities.

Citizens advisory committee (CAC)

The Citizens Advisory Committee works to facilitate citizen participation in the planning and implementation of the Durham Community Development Block Grant Program (CDBG).  The CDBG Program works to ensure decent affordable housing, to provide services to the most vulnerable in our communities, and to create jobs through the expansion and retention of businesses.  The CDBG is an important tool for helping our local government officials and administrators to tackle many serious challenges facing our community.  The annual CDBG appropriation is allocated between State and Local jurisdictions called "non-entitlement" and "entitlement" communities respectively.  Entitlement communities are comprised of central cities of Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs); Metropolitan cities with populations of at least 50,000; and qualified urban counties with a population of 200,000 or more (excluding the populations of entitlement cities).  States distribute CDBG funds to non-entitlement localities not qualified as entitlement communities.  The Department of Housing and Urban Development determines the amount of each grant by using a formula comprised of several measures of community need, including the extent of poverty, population, housing overcrowding, age of housing, and population growth lag in relationship to other metropolitan areas.

The Committee consists of 15 members, 12 of which are appointed by the City Council.